Why is Mitt 1st Tier: Part Eight Gazillion

by

Did anyone else see the recent Gallup poll indicating Mitt Romney is the *only* presidential candidate in either party with higher unfavorables than favorables?  Giuliani, of course, has the highest favorables of any candidate.  I certainly understand Mitt’s unfavorables.  I have yet to meet a single voter actually excited about his campaign.  And I get around.  I know people excited about Duncan Hunter’s campaign.  He’s on my short list of Giuliani Veeps, actually.

My problem with Romney is that he seems to me so clearly transparently self-aggrandizing, insincere, patronizing, and manufactured.  I imagine others have their own reasons.  I just find it inconceivable he can win the nomination, and as soon as the other GOP candidates– even McCain– spend half the money Romney does in IA and NH his leads there will disappear and he will be a non-factor.

2 Responses to “Why is Mitt 1st Tier: Part Eight Gazillion”

  1. Jane Says:

    Mitt had ZERO name recognition before he started spending. Rudy had 100% name recognition to start. Mitt is first tier because he is moving UP the polls not down as people find out about him. And people are excited. How else could he raise 6.5m in 1 day?

  2. karlub Says:

    Ummm, Mitt’s not really moving up the polls anymore. And when he was, please color me unimpressed that with millions of dollars a candidate can get from zero to eight.

    Sorry if I sound like a sarcastic smartypants. The only fundamental problem I have with Mitt Romney is that he’s running for president. In almost any other context I would be in his corner.

    But when it comes to president, we’ve been down this road before. The GOP has a habit of selecting people who look good on paper, so long as the resume goes through the social conservative HR department. That screening process has gotten us Dole rather than Phil Gramm, and the current president rather than Steve Forbes. That screening process also was darned close to sinking Ronald Reagan.

    Right now I can see that apparatus trying to kick in for Mitt Romney. There is not a doubt in my mind this is a huge mistake, unless you like the idea of Bill Clinton in the White House again, or you like the idea of a State Senator making things up as he goes along at 1600 PA Ave because he’s black, pretty, and has public speaking skills marginally higher than this country’s atrocious average.

Leave a Reply

